Count Magnus & Other Ghost Stories: Volume 1

This item is sold out

To view similar items click here.

Free Delivery on this purchase

Count Magnus and Other Ghost Stories: The Complete Ghost Stories of M. R. James, Volume 1

M.R. James

Publisher:Penguin Books

The only annotated edition of M. R. James's writings currently available, “Count Magnus and Other Ghost Stories” contains the entire first two volumes of James's ghost stories, “Ghost Stories of an Antiquary” and “More Ghost Stories of an Antiquary”. These volumes are both the culmination of the nineteenth-century ghost story tradition and the inspiration for much of the best twentieth-century work in this genre. Included in this collection are such landmark tales as “Count Magnus”, set in the wilds of Sweden; “Number 13”, a distinctive tale about a haunted hotel room; “Casting the Runes”, a richly complex tale of sorcery that served as the basis for the classic horror film; “Curse of the Demon”; and “Oh, Whistle, and I'll Come to You, My Lad”, one of the most frightening tales in literature. The appendix includes several rare texts, including “A Night in King's College Chapel”, James's first known ghost story.

GST Note: GST is included in the price of this item. GST is included in the freight.

Customer Reviews



Delivery time frames will depend on your location, please check the shipping calculator to see an estimate of when you can typically expect to receive your goods based on your postcode.

Loading content...
Loading content...

Follow Us

We Accept

Follow Us

Download Our App