Eight Modern Plays

This item is sold out

To view similar items click here.

Free Delivery on this purchase

Eight Modern Plays


2ndPublisher: W. W. Norton & CompanyFormat: Paperback

Included here are the complete texts of eight major plays by eight major playwrights: Henrik Ibsen 's The Wild Duck, Anton Chekhov 's Three Sisters, George Bernard Shaw 's Candida, August Strindberg 's The Ghost Sonata, Luigi Pirandello 's Six Characters in Search of an Author, Eugene O Neill 's Long Day 's Journey into Night, Bertolt Brecht 's Mother Courage and Her Children, and Samuel Beckett 's Happy Days. The most accurate and readable translations have been chosen for plays originally in foreign languages, including a new translation of Pirandello 's Six Characters in Search of an Author by Anthony Caputi, based on the definitive Italian text of 1925. Each play has been carefully annotated for the student reader foreign words and phrases are translated, allusions beyond the range of general knowledge are explained, and historical material is included as needed. A comprehensive “Backgrounds and Criticism” section provides supporting materials by each playwright represented letters, essays, authors notes as well as a broad sampling of critical reviews and interpretations for each play. A Selected Bibliography is also included.

GST Note: GST is included in the price of this item. GST is included in the freight.

Customer Reviews



Delivery time frames will depend on your location, please check the shipping calculator to see an estimate of when you can typically expect to receive your goods based on your postcode.

Loading content...
Loading content...

Follow Us

We Accept

Follow Us

Download Our App